Pandora Preorders

Striker21

Has anyone else been following the development of the Pandora? It just became available for pre-order and only 3000 are being made this year. Those who miss out have to wait until next year for the second batch.

Check it out at http://www.openpandora.org

"How is it relevant?" is what some may be asking. Well, the Pandora prides itself on being one of the best ways to emulate all of your favorite consoles in your pocket. It has full analog controller capabilities, touchscreen, it even has a full keyboard for all of you Amiga lovers.

Just thought I'd spread the love.

Preordered mine this morning.

I've had my eye on Pandora for a while. As I'm a developer, I may port something to it (got my eyes on something already, but need to scope it out to see what's feasible) once I get my hands on it.

Worthy of noting is that they're not OUT, they are just taking preorders on the first batch - just 3000 units worldwide, first come first serve, and after that the next batch will be made in 2009. The current batch will be delivered .. november, I think?

Can't wait to start playing with this device. Atmuh will tell you how much of a Linux guru I can be at times, and this handheld is right up my alley.

What do you plan on doing with pandora? Anything big besides the expected emulation?

Edit: Here are some links:

Official Website

Wikipedia page

Preorder here

Forums

Looks and sounds interesting, but the price is a little high. Yeah, you don't have to pay for games, but still...

And it's a severely limited release, so I have to wonder about future support and service. What if it flops bigtime? It's hard enough to get support from the larger, more structured console companies as it is, and that's with current systems.