OCR01857 - *YES* Final Fantasy 6 'Vision of Celes' *RESUB*

Liontamer

Original Decision: http://www.ocremix.org/forums/showthread.php?t=10202

Remixer name: Gorgonian

username: gorgonian14

Name of game remixed: Final Fantasy 6, Celes Theme

Resubmission. Previously rejected with a resubmit suggestion.

I changed every single sample used and did my best on production. I am relatively new to the production aspect, but I did try very hard and take a lot of suggestions.

Thanks for the opportunity. Link below.

--------------------------------------------------------------

http://snesmusic.org/v2/download.php?spcNow=ff6 - "Celes" (ff6-122.spc)

Not that I'd ever regret it, but I'm certainly glad I went NO last time, given the end result here. And that's really what some NO votes are about; not trying to be discouraging, but pushing artists to push themselves.

Nice upgrade of the sounds. I don't recall the arrangement seeming nearly this grandiose or dynamic at all. Great use of the Works forum to solicit feedback and achieve some great results via the help of other forumgoers critiquing away. You really stepped it up on this one and made the call an easy one. Nice work.

For the chilluns!

YES

EQ was touched up a little on this one. First thing I noticed when comparing it to your last, there's a lot more treble on the track, which gives your strings a nice, airy feel. Also, (and maybe this is just because they're not quite as muddy) it sounds like there's more stereo separation here. Nice.

Around :40 or so, the brass was pushed back so as to disguise some of the fakeyness mentioned last go-around. Yeah, I'm gonna agree with Jon that the brass isn't just spit-in-your-face-obnoxiously-poor like they kind of were last time around. And you've substantially improved your dynamics. Rather than simply relying on a reverse cymbal swell, you've actually automated the actual dynamics. So props.