*NO* Final Fantasy 6 'Vision of Celes'

Liontamer

I am submitting Vision of Celes for review by the judges at ocremix.org.

Vision of Celes is a full orchestra arrangment of The Celes Theme from the Final Fantasy series. It was arranged using Finale, sequenced using FL Studio, and tampered with using Audacity. The arrangement is meant to be a simple yet emotional treatment of the theme. The setting is intentionally straightforward in an attempt to capture the majesty and beauty of the melody.

I hope you enjoy it.

I am somewhat new to this idiom, but I have done a few projects as a hobby. I am a musician by profession, and I teach high school band in Oklahoma.

Gorgonian.

mp3 file:

---------------------------------------------------------------

Props on teaching high school band. Get 'em to play some video game music. Share the love!

http://snesmusic.org/v2/download.php?spcNow=ff6 - "Celes" (ff6-122.spc)

A bit on the stiff side in terms of the the timing; the beginning in particular felt pretty rigid with the woodwinds sounding pretty exposed. The higher brass in particular was pretty rough-sounding and fakey (technical term) with the note movements, but the issue was mitigated somewhat by some much needed layering.

As I've had it said to me time and time again, it's hard to get nice-sounding sequenced brass, so I understand. But every time it takes the foreground, I cringe a little on this one. As much as I wanna give it to you because the arrangement is creative and solid, I feel like I'm making a potentially dissenting decision by pushing for some touchups to get the textures sounding a bit more cohesive.