Chrono Trigger: Frog's Theme (RC 3)

Vyper

Hi all,

I'm rather new to this and haven't posted any OCRemixes so I thought I'd get some feedback here before trying to submit.

I know it's been done several times before, but I decided to take a stab at an electronic dance version of Frog's Theme. It's quite a bit more intense than the remixes already on the site.

I think the parts without the theme might be a little too crowded and it might be a little too long, but I'm not sure. Please let me know what you think. I won't be shattered if you think it's hopeless.

Link: http://boxstr.com/files/4679378_imofg/Frog_v3.mp3

Thanks.

~ Velly

Hey, I like this! It is pretty intense.

I'm no expert on this genre (though certainly a fan), but I think the only thing getting in the way on this one is repetition. The only melodic content in this is the Frog theme. The submission standards do require a fairly even balance between original content and source content. Of course, your choice of genre, texture, etc does account for a bit of that variation but a good chunk of the variation evaluated is in the melody. The breaks that you have where the melody isn't playing certainly helps as well. You do end up repeating the source 4 and a half times though. Try changing the melody up on one of those times. Play with the rhythm, harmonization, heck, even write something completely original instead. There are lots of ways to add variation. Be creative :D

Also, when you aren't playing the melody, the background even gets a bit repetitive. Of course I understand that repetition is the nature of this genre, but there are ways to keep the beat phat without doing the same thing over again. I really like the change in texture at 2:20. Maybe something along those lines?

As far as production goes everything sounds good as far as I can tell. Just add a good deal more variation to your composition and I think you'll have a good chance of getting posted!